Understanding IVF Statistics and Success Rates in Singapore

 

Outright success rates are not the best criteria in assessing an IVF centre, as the statistics can be presented in many ways. The live birth rate of an IVF centre depends on many factors of which the patient’s age, medical history and prior fertility treatment history play an important part.

 

Therefore, it is important to compare like-for-like when looking at IVF statistics. Nonetheless, information on the live-birth rate for a particular age group based on number of embryos transferred is useful as a rough indication of a centre’s expertise.

 

Age and fertility

It is well-established that a woman’s fertility peaks in her early 20s. After 35 years old and beyond, the fall in fertility is steep, which coincides with an increased risk of chromosomal abnormalities and miscarriage.

 

A table extracted from the Human Fertility & Embryology Authority (HFEA) in the United Kingdom summarising live birth rates of women by age, number of repeat IVF cycles and number of embryos transferred for years 1991-1998 of IVF centres in UK clearly shows that the younger the women, the higher the chance of a live birth occurring.


IVF & ART: Is there a recipe for success?


Age of women

% of live births after Embryo transfer

1 embryo

2 embryos

3 embryos

< 38

15

36.2

39.9

> 38

5.6

15.9

23.1

Live birth rates by age vs number of embryos transferred*


Also, there is a relationship between higher live birth rates and an increase in the number of embryos transferred.

However, increasing the number of embryos carries the risk of multiple pregnancies. While this may be welcomed by a couple trying for a child, multiple pregnancies are more likely to have complications such as premature delivery.

 

Results from the 2001 national summary in the United States of America show a similar pattern of higher live birth rates and higher multiple rates with younger women:


Type of Pregnancy

Age of woman and Live Birth rate per embryo transfer (%)

<35

35 – 37 embryos

38 – 40

41 – 42

Singleton

24.8

22.9

18.5

11.9

Twin

33.1

28.6

22.7

14.5

Triplets or more

8.1

7.8

6.2

2.9

Average no. of embryos transferred

2.8

3.1

3.4

3.7

 

Age of women vs live birth rates and multiple rates*


24th Nov 2004, Bangkok C. Jones et al, pre-COGI congress/course

 

In the USA, there is no restriction on the number of embryos to be transferred and there is a greater tendency to transfer three or more embryos. This can be seen in higher live birth rates for women of all ages compared to the UK. Similarly, higher live birth rates may also be quoted for countries that have no restriction on number of embryos transferred (e.g. Malaysia, Thailand, Taiwan, Hong Kong etc).


In Singapore, under Ministry of Health (MOH) regulations, the maximum number of embryos that can be transferred is three. Furthermore, every IVF centre in Singapore is required to submit their yearly IVF statistics to the MOH. More recently, the MOH has posted the average charges and success rates in each centre (for the year 2002) on its website (https://www.moh.gov.sg/content/moh_web/home/Publications/information_papers/2004/in-vitro_fertilisationivfinsingaporechargesandsuccessrates.html). We again stress that success rate statistics should be interpreted carefully.

 

For more information, please visit these links:

了解IVF统计数据

成功率并不是评价一家IVF中心的最好标准 因为IVF数据能够以很多方式来解读。一家IVF中心婴儿安全出生率取决于很多因素,其中患者的年龄、病史和以往的生育治疗都十分重要。

因此,在看待IVF统计数据时 将同类数据进行比较是十分重要的。尽管如此,将某个年龄组基于胚胎移植数量的婴儿安全出生率作为这家中心专业性的粗略指标还是很有效的。

 

年龄和生育率

年龄对生育能力的影响已经被人们公认,女性生育最高产的阶段是二十几岁的时候,35岁以后生育率直线下降并且伴随着染色体异常和流产风险的升高。

引自英国人类生育与胚胎学管理局(HFEA)的表格将英国IVF中心1991年至1998年进行的胚胎移植按照女性年龄对婴儿安全出生率的影响,按照年龄划分的婴儿安全出生率VS胚胎移植数量,显然,女性越年轻,婴儿安全出生率越高。

 

IVF与ART(辅助生殖技术):有成功的秘诀吗?


女性年龄

胚胎移植后安全出生婴儿的百分比

1 个胚胎

2 个胚胎

3 个胚胎

< 38

15

36.2

39.9

> 38

5.6

15.9

23.1

按年龄的安全出生率与胚胎移植数量*

 

并且也有这样的趋势,胚胎移植数量增加,婴儿安全出生率也会提高。

但是,胚胎数量的增加导致了多胎妊娠风险的提高。当然,这可能是一些想要孩子的夫妻所欢迎的,但是多胎妊娠很有可能导致早产之类的并发症。

2001年美国的国家汇总数据也显示出一个类似的模式,年轻女性有较高的婴儿安全出生率和较高的多胎妊娠率:

 

妊娠类型

女性年龄与每个胚胎移植的婴儿安全出生率(%)

35 岁以下

35 – 37 岁

38 – 40 岁

41 – 42 岁

单胎

24.8

22.9

18.5

11.9

双胎

33.1

28.6

22.7

14.5

三胎或以上

8.1

7.8

6.2

2.9

胚胎移植平均数量

2.8

3.1

3.4

3.7

 

女性年龄与婴儿安全出生率和多胞胎率*

 

2004年11月24日,曼谷,C. Jones等人,COGI前会议/课程

 

在美国,对于胚胎移植的数量没有限制,移植3个或以上的胚胎越来越常见。从中可以看出,与英国IVF统计数据相比,美国各个年龄女性的婴儿安全出生率都高一些。与之类似,那些没有胚胎移植限制的国家或地区的婴儿安全出生率也都高一些,例如马来西亚、泰国、台湾、香港等。


在新加坡,由于卫生部的规定,胚胎移植数量的上限是3个。另外,新加坡的IVF中心每年要向卫生部提交IVF统计数据。最近,卫生部在网站 (www.moh.gov.sg). 上公布了每家中心(2002年)的平均收费水平和成功率。我们再次强调,这些成功率的统计数据应谨慎解读。

 

如要了解更多信息 请浏览以下链接: